“What do you do?”

Despite loving my work, I’ve always hated that question. Ben Casnocha says:

Generally, the harder it is to explain to someone you’ve just met at a cocktail party what it is you do on a day to day basis, the more interesting the work you’re engaged in.

Then he shares this from Arnold Kling, which I wish I could transmit to every high school senior and college freshman in America:

A job seeker is looking for… a well-defined job. But the trend seems to be that if a job can be defined, it can be automated or outsourced.

The marginal product of people who need well-defined jobs is declining. The marginal product of people who can thrive in less structured environments is increasing.

2 thoughts on ““What do you do?”

  1. This is very true.

    When asked “What do you do?” I usually just respond, “I make websites & mobile apps.” If they want to have a deeper conversation then I’m happy to go into more detail.

Leave a Reply

